time to explore with esplora

Nominations for Premju għall-Arti 2022 are open

Nominations for Premju għall-Arti 2022 are open

The fifth edition of Premju għall-Arti 2022 has officially been launched, by the Arts Council Malta, within the Ministry for national heritage, the arts and local government.

What is Premju għall-Arti?

Premju għall-Arti is essentially Art Council Malta’s celebration of the main achievements of the Maltese cultural and creative industries. This high-profile national event awards excellence in the field of culture and the arts, whilst also encouraging professionalism and distinction within the sector. Launched in 2017, the main aim of the awards is to recognise and reward excellent, innovative and outstanding work.

The fifth edition has 13 different categories, 10 of which are competitive ones and three are honorary rewards.

What are the categories and rewards?

For the 2021/2022 edition, the 10 competitive categories are the following:

L-aqwa xogħol għal tfal u żgħażagħ (Best work for young audiences)
L-aqwa proġett fil-komunità (Best project in the community)
L-aqwa programm jew staġun artistiku (Best artistic programme or season)
L-aqwa produzzjoni tas-sena (Production of the year)
L-aqwa kisbiet internazzjonali (Best international achievement)
L-aqwa intrapriża kreattiva (Best creative enterprise)
L-artist żagħżugħ/a tas-sena (Young artist of the year)
L-artist tas-sena (Artist of the year)
Premju għall-innovazzjoni (Innovation award)
L-għażla tal-pubbliku (Audience’s choice)

The three non-competitive honours, on the other hand, are the following:

Unur għall-karriera artistika (Lifetime achievement award)
Unur għall-promoturi kulturali (Honour for cultural promoters)
Unur għall-wirt artistiku (Honour for artistic legacy)

The nominations

Nominations will be accepted until 28 February at noon. The team will process the nominations and contact the artist or producer of the work via email. Should you be interested, or know anyone who is, apply here.

Speaking at the launch, Jose Herrera, minister for national heritage, arts and local government noted the importance of the awards for the sector. “Through this initiative, we are continuously ensuring that our creative and artists’ efforts and work are being recognised. As a government, we are supporting our artists and their creations in the development of our country through the appreciation of our cultural heritage and as a catalyst for the local sector to reach international platforms.”