time to explore with esplora

Almost 20 more countries added to Malta’s no-quarantine list

19 countries have been added to Malta’s ‘red-travel list’, which indicates that travellers from any red-list countries can enter the country without needing to quarantine provided that they can present a valid and recognised vaccine certificate.

The update, which was published in a legal notice today, will come into force as of tomorrow, the 23rd of September, 2021. Health minister Chris Fearne hinted at the change earlier this month, amid complaints that the country’s travel rules are some of the most restrictive in Europe.

Which countries have been added to the list?

According to the legal notice, travel to the Maltese Islands from the following is now allowed:

  • Bahrain

  • Bermuda

  • Cape Verde

  • Gabon

  • Iraq

  • Kuwait

  • Malaysia

  • Maldives

  • Mongolia

  • Morocco

  • Myanmar

  • Namibia

  • Russia

  • Rwanda

  • Saint Kitts and Nevis

  • South Africa

  • Timor

  • India

  • Tunisia

Just a refresher: if travelling from the above countries, visitors will not be made to quarantine, provided that they are in possession of a valid and recognised vaccine certificate.

As it stands, the authorities recognise vaccine certificates of Malta, the EU, the UK, the UAE, the US, Serbia, Turkey, Gibraltar, Jersey and Guernsey, Qatar, Albania, Australia, Egypt, Lebanon and Canada. Certificates are only recognised as valid if holders have been given two shots of vaccines manufactured by Pfizer, Moderna or AstraZeneca, or the single shot of the Janssen vaccine, manufactured by Johnson & Johnson.

With regards to anyone arriving from countries on the ‘dark-red list’, who is in possession of a residency permit or ID card, can stay home to quarantine as long as the entire household is fully-vaccinated.

However, hotel quarantine still applies for households where the person lives with more than four other people who did not travel.