time to explore with esplora

Countries added to Malta’s must-quarantine list

Countries added to Malta’s must-quarantine list

A total of five countries have been removed from Malta’s red list, meaning that anyone arriving from these countries, must quarantine upon arrival in the country.

Check out the list below:

  • Bosnia and Herzegovina

  • Egypt

  • Mongolia

  • Ukraine

  • Serbia

The above countries have all been moved into the dark-red list, according to a legal notice that will come into effect tomorrow, Thursday 21 October, 2021. As a result, any person arriving from a dark-red listed country must quarantine for 14 days in a quarantine hotel, at the rate of €100 per night.

What if you are a Maltese resident?

If you are in possession of a Maltese residency permit or ID card, the quarantine period can indeed be carried out at home, provided that the entire household has been fully vaccinated. If you live with more than four people who did not travel however, you must still quarantine in a hotel. Why, we hear you ask? Well, no reason was given.

In addition to the dark-red list additions, another 21 countries were added to Malta’s red list, meaning that those arriving from these countries do not need to quarantine.

Here’s the list of countries that have been added:

Argentina, Azerbaijan, Belize, Bhutan, Cayman Islands, Chile, Colombia, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Falklands, Indonesia, Iran, Jamaica, Laos, Mauritania, Oman, Panama, São Tomé and Prìncipe, Trinidad and Tobago and Uruguay.

To avoid quarantine, arrivals will have to present a valid vaccine certificate, which will only be recognised if holders have been given two shots of vaccines manufactured by Pfizer, Moderna or AstraZeneca, or one shot of the Janssen vaccine made by Johnson & Johnson. As proof of vaccination, Maltese health authorities are currently accepting vaccine certificates issued by the EU, UK, UAE, Turkey, US, Serbia, Gibraltar, Jersey, Guernsey, Qatar, Albania, Australia, Egypt, Lebanon, Canada, Singapore, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Malaysia, Rwanda, Kosovo, Palestine, Bahrain, Bermuda, Armenia, Iraq, South Korea and Moldova.

Digital recovery certificates, vaccine certificates showing only a single dose and certificates with less than 14 days from the final dose will not be accepted and are not valid for those looking to travel to Malta.

What do you think of this news?